NewsSocial media

WhatsApp starts rolling out the view once disappearing feature for photos and videos

1 Mins read

After testing the feature for two months, WhatsApp is finally rolling out the Snapchat-like ‘view once’ feature for photos and videos, to make messaging more private.

Initially, WhatsApp rolled out the feature for specific beta testers on Android and with the new update that has rolled out this week, the messaging giant has begun the launch phase.

“You can now send photos and videos that can only be viewed once by recipients. To get started, take a picture or choose an item from your gallery and tap the new “1” icon that appears next to the caption.”

read the ‘Version 2.21.150’ update details.

Just like Snapchat, when you send photos and videos using the view-once feature, they can only be viewed once, and you’re notified when the recipient has opened them. Additionally, when photos and videos are set to view-once, the media will disappear after you close it.

Despite the feature sharing similarities with the Snapchat feature, it has its downsides in comparison, for one; If you disable read receipts, the recipient will still see if you have opened the photo or video set to view once, but you cannot see when the recipient open yours. In groups, you can see when other participants open expiring photos even if you have disabled read receipts.

You should also take note that the recipient might save the photo or take screenshots, and WhatsApp won’t notify you because there isn’t a screenshot detection feature added.

Just like every WhatsApp update, the Version 2.21.150 details end with a note; “These features will roll out over the coming weeks.” so update the app and you will soon see the feature loading in no time, depending on the OS and region.

Are you looking forward to using this feature soon? Let us know in the comments.


UPDATE:

WhatsApp has officially rolled out the View Once feature on all devices.

The messaging giant also noted that the new feature could be helpful for an array of needs that definitely aren’t sending nudes, like sharing a photo of some clothes you tried on or giving someone your wifi password.

Additionally, WhatsApp would like to remind you that just because the photos or video will vanish, that doesn’t prevent someone from taking a screenshot (and you won’t know if they do).

134 posts

About author
Here to tech it all
Articles
    Related posts
    InternetNewsVideo

    Spotify is testing a video feed similar to TikTok

    1 Mins read
    Spotify is currently testing a new video feed that displays fullscreen videos while playing songs. With the recent changes in tech, there’s…
    News

    Apple alerts iPhone users in Uganda, Thailand and El Salvador over alleged state-sponsored hack

    2 Mins read
    Apple has reportedly sent a threat notification alert to all the victims of state-sponsored hackers in Uganda, Thailand, and El Salvador, just…
    NewsVideo

    DStv is upgrading to 4K content in 2022

    2 Mins read
    According to a report, MultiChoice Group is in plans to launch 4K content, hopefully in time for the 2022 FIFA World Cup. Barry…
    Get a bi-weekly digest newsletter

    Get the top stories directly in your email weekly.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *